University of Cape Town (UCT)

Founded 1829 as College by local community, acquired official status 1873. Became University by Act of Parliament 1916 and granted Charter 1918. An autonomous institution receiving financial support (50%) from the State. Open to all who meet the academic requirements, regardless of colour, race, sex or religion.

Funding: Public
Grades 4
Languages 1
Divisions 8
  • Admission details: Matriculation Certificate or certificate of exemption issued by the Joint Matriculation Board
Short online courses 23

Get notified about updates of our data and services

Send feedback
We use cookies to improve your experience on our site. To find out more read our Privacy Policy.