Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT)

Nigeria, Enugu , PMB 01660 Enugu,
Add to My list
Sign In or Create account

The Enugu State University of Science and Technology (ESUT) as it is known today was founded as Anambra State University of Technology (ASUTECH) by the then government of His Excellency Chief Dr Jim Ifeanyichukwu Nwobodo the Executive Governor of Anambra State via edict number 7 of 30th July 1980. ASUTECH was established as a non-residential University, having a multi-campus arrangement. It had a peculiar administrative structure with a President as the Chief Executive Officer. Again four years after the creation of Enugu State, the young State had to forfeit the Abakaliki campus to the newly created Ebonyi State out of Enugu State and Abia State. The College of Medicine had to be moved to Nsukka and the College of Agriculture to Enugu as Faculty of Agriculture. In August 2005 the College of Medicine at Nsukka relocated to Park Lane Hospital now upgraded to a Teaching Hospital and housing a world class College of Medicine operating under ultra-modern structures and facilities built by the Governor of Enugu State at that time, His Excellency Dr. Chimaroke Nnamani. In 2006, the University moved to its permanent site at Agbani. However, the faculties of Engineering and Management Sciences are still in Enugu awaiting the completion of their buildings and other structures. Following the creation of Enugu State out of Anambra State in 1991 by the then Military President General Ibrahim Gbadamasi Babangida, ASUTEC metamorphosed into Enugu State University of Science and Technology while the campuses at Awka and Nnewi became the nucleus of the new Anambra State University, which was later to become a Federal University, the Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka. ESUT, however, adopted and retained the identities of ASUTECH, including its motto, colour, logo, philosophy and aims/objectives. With passage of time, a new campus of ESUT was established at Abakaliki to accommodate the Colleges of Medicine and Agriculture since the former College of Medicine at Nnewi had been taken over by the newly created Anambra State.

Funding: Public
Accreditation: National Universities Commission (NUC)
Grades 4
Languages 1
Divisions 11
  • Admission details: Universities Matriculation Examination (UME) following secondary school education, or direct entry for holders of the Higher School Certificate (General Certificate of Education, Advanced Level), or pre-science internal examination (science examination only).

Similar universities

Get notified about updates of our data and services

Send feedback
Utilizamos cookies para melhorar sua experiência em nosso site. Para saber mais leia nossa Política de privacidade .